zulooskin.blogg.se

Fitness sleep expert
Fitness sleep expert







We’re designed to digest in the daytime so our gut is quietening down overnight. Lying supine for hours at night can generate aches and pains so a gentle stretch towards the end of the day helps to prepare my body physically for sleep. When I’m watching telly, I try to get out my yoga mat and do some stretching. I won’t do vigorous exercise late because it wakes me up when I really need to be winding down. That’s when your body is most flexible and your muscles are most warmed up and you get the most benefits from it. Research shows the majority of people are strongest between 4-6pm, when your core body temperature is at its highest. If it’s a busy day for me, that exercise will be 20-30 minutes of walking, otherwise I might run or lift some weights. Evening exerciseĮxercise is incredibly important to help us sleep. Factoring in simple breaks to just do nothing is essential. Nowadays every moment is filled with our phones, social media or news, so when we get to bed our Default Mode Network bursts into action. In the past we’d have been daydreaming on the commute or whatever. That’s when your mind races because your Default Mode Network, the part of your brain responsible for mental chatter, hasn’t had the chance to catch up on the day. One of the big problems these days is that the only time we take to pause is when we go to bed. I also use those walks as mental breaks away, so I don’t take my phone.

fitness sleep expert

In the office, I make sure I’m sitting near a window so I get some light. I don’t wear sunglasses because they would reduce the amount of light I’m getting by up to seven times. Natural light is incredibly important to keep our circadian rhythms in check, as being out-of-synch with your body clock can increase your risk of health issues – everything from cardiovascular disease to weight gain – so I make sure I get at least three bursts of natural sunlight outside every day. Drink two or three cups a day if you like, but stop at noon.

fitness sleep expert

At minimum, you need to leave a six-hour break between drinking coffee and going to sleep.

fitness sleep expert

I will have my one coffee (black, no milk) of the day with breakfast or just before. I follow the “16:8” time-restricted eating pattern, which means I will generally have breakfast around 10am and dinner before 6pm.









Fitness sleep expert